Ink, Watercolor, Oil, & Acrylic

Lonjezo

Portrait of a Young Lady I Support through World Vision

 As I head into this realm of blogging, the plan is to update periodically with sketches, paintings, and current projects.  The above image is a portrait I’ve been wanting to do for years now.  It’s based off of a photo of Lonjezo from when I began supporting her.  Lonjezo is in the white dress, and I’ve always loved the little bit of attitude/confidence in her pose.  Something in the photo reminds me of myself at that age.  To me, this portrait is a testimony that no matter how much mileage and culture may separate us, we are all similar.  Some part of the child in us connects to the child in others.

The painting was done for a gallery show in my hometown.  I sketched the figures, did the outlining with black ink and brush, then began painting in watercolor.  I wanted to mass together the bricks in the background to really help the foreground figures pop out.
2 responses

  1. Fran Rice

    I love the picture and you are right I see alittle of your “tude” in her

    February 4, 2011 at 8:24 am

  2. Cherry Moore

    Mollie, I love this picture!

    February 3, 2011 at 8:51 pm

Leave a Reply

