Ink, Watercolor, Oil, & Acrylic

copyright 2011 Mollie Bozarth

Here is the portrait I mentioned in my last post.  While it doesn’t fall into the category of ink or watercolor, it is an example of “telling the story between the lines.”  Whether working on a portrait or a children’s book illustration, I like to let my imagination play into the story being told.  This particular portrait was inspired by my friend/co-worker’s father.  I met Mr. Jones at an art reception and immediately loved the twinkle in his eye.  He was a man who had obviously lived a full and adventurous life, and he regaled us with a number of stories throughout the evening.  Before we all went our separate ways, I asked if he would mind sending me a few photos of himself so that I could paint his portrait.  His son, Steve, took the photos and sent them along to me.  That was nearly 5 years ago, and while I knew HOW I wanted to paint him, it wasn’t until last month that I finally pulled out my oil paints and began sketching.  I always pictured him as a king with rich purples and that look of mischief that says, “I’ve a story to tell if you’d like to hear it!”

This painting is still in progress.  I need to soften the line between the cloak and the lower garments…right now it creates too much of a triangle around his shoulders.  And, I’m still playing with the textures and “smoke” around him.  Any comments or suggestions are welcome.

Leave a Reply

