Ink, Watercolor, Oil, & Acrylic

Recent Sketches

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve been working on revisions to the portrait I posted last month.  However, summer travels, a recent mural opportunity, and other responsibilities have kept me from finishing that portrait.  So, today’s post consists of a couple of sketches from my summer travels.  As you can see, I’m quite happy to study architecture if there’s nothing else around that catches my eye!  I’ve sailed past the Shedd Aquarium many times each summer, but had never noticed the detail within its roofline or facade until I took the time to draw it.  The sun was just beginning to set and cast smooth shadows across each facet of the building.  As for O’Hare airport…I had never realised how spoiled we Chicagoans are with non-stop flights.  I can get a direct flight almost anywhere – including London – and usually enjoy plane travel.  Most of my out-of-state friends have quite a different experience.  Baggage claim seems to be a universal meeting spot where everyone stands around for 15+ minutes trying to look nonchalant while waiting for their belongings to appear on the magical snake-like conveyor belt.  Personally, I’ve always wanted to take a ride on that conveyor belt but figure security guards would snatch me up before I had a chance to even think the word “fun!”.  I guess I’ll have to live vicariously through Woody, Buzz, Jessie, and Bullseye who took the ultimate airport conveyor belt ride in Toy Story II.

Leave a Reply

