Ink, Watercolor, Oil, & Acrylic

Mural

copyright 2011 Mollie Bozarth

copyright 2011 Mollie Bozarth

Well, it’s been a hectic few months with school starting, coaching soccer, and my dad going through major surgery.  In the midst of all that, I’ve had the chance to work on a mural in our downtown parking garage.  My segment is one illustrative panel (approx. 24″ x 30″) in a series of smaller murals.  Eight students and two teachers from our high school each took a panel, so it was a fun opportunity to work with my students outside the classroom setting.  The theme for our floor was “Inspiration & Empowerment.”  Immediately, I thought of a local theater group called Christian Youth Theater.  I know a number of young people in our town who’ve loved being a part of CYT, and I’ve been extremely impressed with the professionalism of their productions.  So, this was a fun illustration for me to pull together!  The above images are sections of the mural.  Color is difficult to capture on camera, especially in a parking garage hallway.  But I’ve tweaked the coloring in Photoshop to get it close to the actual painting.  Timm Etters, a professional mural artist, was in charge of the whole project.  I have seen Timm’s work around town for decades, so this mural gave me a chance to get air-brushing tips from a pro!  I hadn’t touched an airbrush since 1997 and was definitely rusty.  Playing on the safe side, I mainly used airbrush for the background, then did detail work with my acrylics and finished off lighting effects with airbrush over top.  As a bonus, each person who worked on the project received a free Badger Airbrush…very nice perk!

Leave a Reply

