Ink, Watercolor, Oil, & Acrylic

The King

copyright 2011 Mollie Bozarth

It is finished! I finally had a chance to finish up the “portrait” a couple of weeks ago and have been waiting for a day with decent lighting to photograph it.  I took all of the suggestions/critiques people sent in and am very happy with how it turned out.  If you have any further tips or things to keep in mind for the next oil painting I tackle, let me know.  This was the first time I’d touched oils in about 6 years.  It was both fun and frightening!  In the last 10 minutes of finishing touches, I was afraid I’d ruined the whole thing…but was able to pull it back and save it.  Phew!  Will probably start another portrait for fun this month, but am definitely going back to my safety zone of watercolor.  Happy New Year to all!

3 responses

  1. voidatelier

    I love it!! His face holds evidence of both wisdom and mirth, a fine combination for a king. My only suggestions would be to glaze in some deeper darks once it dries, and to significantly darken the background. As it stands, the value of the background is too similar to that of the facial midtones, fighting for attention. Darkening the background will bring the focus in on the face. Darkening shadows on the face will highlight the sense of lighting. Right now it feels like a combination of lights and midtones. You will also be able to add reflected light by darkening the core shadows. I am traveling right now, but when I get home I’d like to do some photoshop manipulation to demonstrate what I mean. Would you mind that?

    I came across your blog via Amanda McFail, and I look forward to following your work! If you’d like, you can follow my creative endeavors at http://www.voidatelier.com. I hope to see you there!

    September 23, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    • Thanks for the comments! Amanda’s a great gal. I got to know her a few years ago when we were both working on a reservation. I see what you mean about the range of midtones and would be interested to see what you try with photoshop manipulation.

      October 4, 2012 at 3:47 pm

      • I’d like to send you what I did in photoshop… but I can’t find any way to do so. would you send me an email so I can attach it? it’s seth at voidatelier dot com.

        October 9, 2012 at 7:04 pm

Leave a Reply

