Ink, Watercolor, Oil, & Acrylic

Water-Mixable Oils

copyright 2013 Mollie Bozarth

copyright 2013 Mollie Bozarth

This oil painting was started last year as a demo for my Painting 2 students.  I compiled several reference images in Photoshop and based the painting off of that composition.  Parts of the painting were blocked in with palette knife.  Most of the work was done with a variety of brush sizes.  The canvas size is 10″x20″.  When I started teaching painting at Waubonsie I didn’t want to mess with the chemicals and fumes of turpentine in a classroom setting.  So, I investigated water-mixable oil sets and found the Reeves brand to be solid quality for a student-grade supply price.  This painting was my first attempt with water-mixable oils.  By the way, they sell water-mixable linseed oil to thin out the paints.  I found that they handle very much like regular oil paints.  You can still come back days later and rework an area.  The paint consistency feels like oil, but clean-up is MUCH faster!  The paint basically disintegrates in water.  Then I keep a tub of Original B&J “The Masters” Brush Cleaner and Preserver on-hand to really clean out my brushes when done for the day.  If you are sensitive to the chemicals used with regular oil paints, I’d encourage you to try these out.

Lighthouses are a regular theme when I paint oils.  I’ve done 3-4 over the years, and this is perhaps my favorite so far.  Growing up near the ocean, I’ve always loved lighthouses.  I can feel the salt breeze on my face…can taste the spray and smell the approaching storm when I look at this painting.

One response

  1. Becky Rehr

    I love it!

    October 26, 2013 at 1:25 pm

Leave a comment