Ink, Watercolor, Oil, & Acrylic

Sketches

c&c

This winter I’ve been working on a mural for our church.  Yesterday evening I finished touch-ups and officially signed it, so will take photos soon and upload them here.  Instead, today’s post will be a glimpse into my sketch journal.  Long ago (when I had the chance to travel in England) I began sketching during trips/vacations, rather than simply taking photos.  It’s a good exercise, forcing me to study the details of a scene and simplify them down to a few lines.  Looking back at these drawings later, I remember what I was doing, who I was with, what memories were being made that day.  Yesterday afternoon was a bus-ride with 34 middle-school kids, coming home from our winter retreat in Michigan.  As several of them honed in on a game of “Truth or Dare” (ah, the joys and predictability of middle-schoolers!) with their friends, I pulled out my journal and pen.  Interest in the game waned as the subject of boys and “who likes who” became theme, and the handful of kids surrounding me suddenly took interest in my sketches.  Elena offered to pose for me.  Capturing a quick likeness is tricky, especially with the added difficulty of drawing in pen on a bumpy highway!  Thankfully, Elena was patient.  While the lines, measurements, and symmetry aren’t perfect, I was pretty happy with the likeness.

elena

Flipping through my journal brought me back to several sketches from this summer’s travels.  Below are studies done during my trip to visit friends in Connecticut over July 4th.  The clock is actually an old time-stamp machine from a factory that my friend’s grandfather worked in.  The view of back steps was sketched while relaxing on their patio one evening.  And the airport sketch is a pretty typical scene…seems like today’s teens must be texting or entertained at all times!

flight

clock steps

 

 

Leave a Reply

