Ink, Watercolor, Oil, & Acrylic

Face to Face

copyright 2014 Mollie Bozarth

copyright 2014 Mollie Bozarth


Above is a segment of this week’s Pick Your Portion artwork. The illustration is based on verses from 2 John, talking about our basic human need for fellowship…as well as our need as Christians to fellowship with other believers.

Artistically, I went to my favorite medium: ink with watercolor. This was a fast study, with no time for revisions. However, before I sat down at my art table, I laid out the design in my imagination, pacing basic sizes, space, lettering, before putting ink to page. I knew that I wanted a hand-written look to the lettering. I knew that “Face to Face” would be the focal point, and that the letters of each word would morph into details of the face/hair. I wanted to keep the faces simplified to a few lines…ink (not watercolor) would be the star of the show. In other words, I kept the watercolor washes basic so that they wouldn’t draw attention away from the ink line. In the written explanation on the PYP site, I talk about mentoring and accountability. So, I emphasized (slightly) the age difference of the two women chatting. For I feel we each have a lot to give younger generations, as well as a lot to learn from friends who are farther down the road of life/faith than we are. To see the full illustration, check out: http://pickyourportion.com/blog/ .

Leave a Reply

